Tattersall's Club Landscape Art Prize
Tattersall's Club Landscape Art Prize
Tattersall's Club Landscape Art Prize
Tattersall's Club Landscape Art Prize
Tattersall's Club Landscape Art Prize

Tattersall’s Club Landscape Art Prize

Now in its 29th year, the Tattersall’s Club Landscape Art Prize is the state’s longest-running landscape art competition with $30,000 on offer for the winning entry.

A record number of 93 entries have been received from a field featuring 26 major national award-winning artists including 2010 Archibald Prize winner Sam Leach, Archibald and Wynne prizewinner John Beard, Glover Prize winner 2010 Josh Foley, and Gallipoli Prize winners Amanda Penrose Hart (2017) and Steve Lopes (2018).

More than 100 artists across the country are selected and invited to exhibit a painting in the Tattersall’s Club Landscape Art Prize. The invitees include winners or finalists in the Art Gallery of New South Wales’ prestigious Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Art Prizes. In recent years, many entrants have also been winners or finalists of Tasmania’s Glover Prize and the Fleurieu Landscape Art Prize (South Australia).

This year’s offering sees 93 very diverse paintings from traditional landscape to contemporary indigenous, cosmic, industrial and urban subjects. The entrants come from every state and territory making the prize a truly national art competition. Many of the entries are of well recognized landmarks such as Archibald winner John Beard’s The Heads from Elizabeth Bay House – a contemporary view of Sydney Harbourand Wynne Prize Watercolour winner John Caldwell’s Storm over Flinders Ranges. Entries by indigenous artists include Wynne Prize winner Joanne Currie Nalingu’s Ours and Theirs and Michael Nelson Jagamara’s Possum Love Story.

To qualify for judging, artists must exhibit a landscape theme broadly including traditional and contemporary landscape, seascape with landform, urban and industrial, cosmic, indigenous and figure in landscape, identifiable landmarks and memory landscapes. The winning entry will be kept by Tattersall’s Club. The prize is an acquisitive award, adding to a prestigious collection kept in the Club, showcasing outstanding entries over almost three decades.

The judges for this year include former winner Dr David Middlebrook, art valuer Bettina Macaulay, Griffith University Art Museum Director Angela Goddard, and Tattersall’s Club committee member Stuart Waddington.

The judges will award a Highly Commended prize, which includes two return airfares to Singapore for the artist. A Members’ Choice Award and People’s Choice Award will also be presented.

The Tattersall’s Club Landscape Art Prize exhibition period will be held at Tattersall’s Club from September 3–7 before a public viewing at the Riverside Centre from September 10–21. 

Share this event


Sign up for our weekly enews & receive more articles like this: